St. Ann's Hospital
Kossuth County Hospital has been in operation since October 4, 1949, first under the name St. Ann Hospital. The cornerstone of the $650,000 structure was laid in the fall of 1948 with St. Cecelia's pastor, the late Msgr. P. P. Gearen and assistant Father W. B. Bauer presiding.
The 14 acre wooded tract on which the hospital stands was presented as a gift to the Sisters of Mercy of Dubuque, IA by Mrs. Mamie Frankl. Many of our parishioners helped in bringing the hospital to Algona. Luke Linnan, Algona attorney, was the head of the volunteer Hospital Committee which was instrumental in raising the initial funds necessary to getting the project started and M. J. Bradley was on the original Board of Directors.
As it was constructed in 1949, St. Ann's included an emergency room adjacent to the ambulance entrance on the 1st floor, two modern operating rooms on the 2nd floor and complete obstetrical and nursery sections on 3rd with an entire capacity of 60 or more patients. Also included was a beautiful chapel and chaplain's apartments.
Quoting from the 9-29-49 Upper Des Moines "Algona can boast of the most beautiful, modern up-to-date hospital of its size in the whole State of Iowa. It has been ... a community project supported by everyone in the community regardless of creed."
Ownership of St. Ann's was transferred to the Sisters of St. Benedict of Madison, Wisc., Sept. 1, 1967. On January 1, 1972, ownership was again transferred to Kossuth County and renamed Kossuth County Hospital. On April 4, 1977, ground was broken for a Family Health Center to be added to the south of the hospital.